This award is presented annually to recognize the achievements and dedicated service of Army and Air National Guard field grade Officers who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and professionalism in their military careers as well as service to their community. MAJ Kevin M. Jenrette graduated from the University of North Georgia in 1995 and was commissioned in the United States Army. He served on active duty until 2005, completing Airborne and Ranger School. He joined the Georgia Army National Guard in 2005. While deployed to Afghanistan with the 1st Battalion, 108th RSTA Squadron, MAJ Jenrette died on 4 June 2009 from wounds suffered from an improvised explosive device near Kakar, Afghanistan. MAJ Jenrette was a truly motivational leader who inspired all those around him to achieve their best. The award recognizes field grade Officers who demonstrate the leadership and selfless service exemplified by MAJ Jenrette.

A walnut plaque (a design chosen by the NGAGA board of directors) with the following inscription on a silver plate is presented to the recipient: “The Kevin M. Jenrette Leadership Award Presented to (name of recipient) In Recognition of Your Leadership, Selfless Service and Demonstrated Ability to Help Others to Become the Best They Can Be” – National Guard Association of Georgia – (Date)

Nominees must be a field grade Officer serving in either the Army National Guard or the Air National Guard during the award period for which the award is given. Nominees must be members of both NGAGA and NGAUS.

Whole-career information will be submitted and evaluated to include: accomplishments in duty assignments; career progression, training and professional development activities; community service demonstrating leadership or exemplary character; military and civilian education; awards and decorations; experience and achievements; leadership qualities and character.

Nomination and Selection Procedures
Nomination forms should include recommended endorsements from unit commander, battalion or wing commander. Previous recipients may not be nominated. Each service component may submit more than one nomination each year.

Past Recipients

COL Nathan Stone

LTC Matt Johnston
LTC John Avera