The Georgia Minuteman Award is the highest recognition bestowed upon an individual NGAGA member. It recognizes exceptional achievement, a patriotic act, highly distinguished service or an outstanding contribution to a military organization, community, state, nation, and to the National Guard Association of Georgia.

A 13-inch pewter sculpted minuteman, mounted on a walnut wood base with an inscription plate appropriately engraved with the name of the recipient. The award also comes with an official certificate of appreciation from the acting NGAGA president that bestows the recipient with an honorary NGAGA life membership.

The individual to be selected should have made sustained contributions of exceptional and far-reaching magnitude to the defense and security of the state or nation in a highly distinguished manner worthy of such recognition. Although a single deed or action may be considered as qualification for this award if it is of sufficient magnitude and significance, weight should be given to sustained contributions.

Nomination and Selection Procedures
Any member of the Awards Committee, the Board of Directors or an elected officer of NGAGA, or Adjutants General may nominate an individual to receive this award. The letter should contain clear and detailed statement of the nature and magnitude of the nominated individual’s contributions to an improved defense posture of the Georgia National Guard or the nation. The Georgia Minuteman Award is usually presented not more than once annually. However, if in the view of the Awards Committee or the Board of Directors, no individual has met the requirements of the award, no award will be given. An individual may not receive the Award more than once.

Past Recipients

BG(R) Tom Blackstock

BG Bobby L. Christine

BG Reginald G. Neal

BG Randall V. Simmons

COL John M. Verhage

BG Craig M. McGalliard

COL Thomas Grabowski

COL Raymond Bossert, Jr.

COL Randal S. Carter

COL John King
COL (Ret) Frank Williams

COL Mike Scholes