The James Edward Oglethorpe Award is designed to provide recognition to civic leaders, local and state officials, who in a position of great responsibility distinguished themselves with outstanding and exceptional service to Georgia National Guard military services, the National Guard or the National Guard Association of Georgia.

Any civilian, not eligible for an award in any other NGAUS or NGAGA category, may be nominated for the James Edward Oglethorpe award. Primarily designed for recognition of local officials (city, county, state), civic leaders (ESGR, civilian aides, corporate CEOs) or legislative staffers.

This award is a walnut plaque with a likeness of James Oglethorpe centered at the top of the award. Above the image of James Oglethorpe is the inscription “The James Edward Oglethorpe Award” and below the image the recipient’s name and date the honor was received. Also, written below the image is “National Guard Association of Georgia.”

An individual must have distinguished him/herself over an extended period of time in their support of the Georgia National Guard, the National Guard or NGAGA.

Superior performance of normal duty alone does not justify award of this honor. An individual must have provided exceptionally strong support for the Georgia National Guard, the National Guard or NGAGA to clearly merit this award. The support of the individual must be such that the readiness and the future of the Guard have been positively affected and the results of the support should remain beyond the individual’s affiliation aforementioned organizations.

The service narrative should provide specifics as to the nature, e.g., legislation passed and enacted, versus sponsored; and the period of service being recognized be clearly stated.

Nomination and Selection Procedures
Any member of NGAGA may nominate an individual to receive this award. An individual may not receive more than one James Edward Oglethorpe Award and more than one award may be given in a calendar year.

Past Recipients

No Award Given

No Award Given

Mr. David F. Golden
Mr. Chris Wigginton

Mr. Scott McElroy and Mrs. Patty Baker-McElroy
Mr. Tom Bell

No Award Given

No Award Given

No Award Given

Dr. William (Bill) Cathcart

COL (Ret) Chris Mears